Counseling

Contact Us:
Last Names A-G: Katy Chamberlin - kchamberlin@puhsd.k12.ca.us 
 Last Names H-M: Dave Ward - dward@puhsd.k12.ca.us
Last Names N-Z: Karen Garcia - kgarcia@puhsd.k12.ca.us 
Counseling Secretary: Vanessa Robles - vrobles@puhsd.k12.ca.us
College & Career Specialist: Theresa Pearson - tpearson@puhsd.k12.ca.us
Mental Health Specialist: Jen Dixon - jwarddixon@puhsd.k12.ca.us
Registrar: Willi Bailey - wbailey@puhsd.k12.ca.us
Counseling News - April 2019

Military Fair - Thursday, April 25th

Representatives from the individual branches of the military will be on campus to give presentations and answer your specific questions this Thursday, April 25th. Small group presentations will be in the Career Center during 3rd Block. The representatives will also have tables set up outside at lunch to meet with interested students. Please let Mrs. Pearson in the counseling office know if you would like to attend.


CTE Works Class Offerings

CTE Works will now offer Health Careers as a course option at Placer High School in the afternoon. CTE Works provides the hands-on skills needed to pursue a rewarding career in the occupation of your choice. CTE offerings include, Automotive Services, Automotive Technology, Clinical Medical Assisting and now Health Careers. See your counselor to sign up!


Scholarships
Did you know, Placer Union High School District has a comprehensive list of scholarships available to our graduating students? Take a look at the District Scholarship Bulletin to find the scholarship that's right for you. Seniors applying for Placer High only scholarships may use the Senior Scholarship Application. If you need a letter of recommendation please complete the request for letter of recommendation online and email it to your teacher/counselor.

Resumes and Scholarship Applications
Need help with your resume or scholarship application? Have questions about scholarships? See Mrs. Pearson in the Counseling Office.

NROTC National Scholarship
The Naval Reserves Officers Training Corps is offering a scholarship to Juniors and Seniors. Click here for more information.

Tutoring

Placer High School offers free tutoring in a variety of subjects every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday afternoon from 3-4pm in the library. Additionally, we have an approved list of current Placer students who provide private tutoring for negotiated fees.

Sierra College Enrollment Applications and/or Academic Enrichment

Sierra College Application Workshops are Monday mornings during 2nd and 3rd in the Career Center. Stop by or sign up with Mrs. Pearson in the counseling office. Seniors can actually submit their applications for Summer/Fall. Juniors can use this opportunity to apply for Academic Enrichment. Sophomores can apply to start taking academic enrichment classes in the summer. Academic Enrichment classes are free at Sierra College, students are only responsible for paying for books and any misc fees. Bring your chromebook and social security number to complete the application. Make an appointment to see Mrs. Garcia or Mr. Ward in the counseling office to schedule your Sierra College Classes.

Decided on your final destination after high school?  

Stop by the counseling office and have your name added to the “Oh The Places You’ll Go… Class of 2019” board!




Ċ
Karen Garcia,
Sep 6, 2018, 12:09 PM
Ċ
Karen Garcia,
Jan 10, 2019, 7:54 AM
Ċ
Katy Chamberlin,
Feb 8, 2019, 3:12 PM
Ċ
Karen Garcia,
Feb 5, 2019, 2:29 PM
Ċ
Karen Garcia,
Jan 25, 2019, 10:16 AM
Comments